Source Hunt

As a mentioned last week I am stuck when it comes to finding sources. I know what I want and the terms to using to find them. Since I have been snowed in the past few days I have not been able to go back to the library. My first trip turned up a few books on sports marketing which I hope will give better insight to the audience but I am having trouble finding scholarly articles that support my thesis that nostalgia can be used to inspire design in the future of sports design. This idea of looking to the past reminds me of a Ghanaian proverb: “It is not wrong to go back for that which you have forgotten”. I may have use what I considered unconventional sources and ideas to help fuel my search. I feel the past has so much to teach and is not moving design backward. I also recognize the desire for designers to introduce the next big idea.  

I am planning to present several case studies to support the idea that nostalgia in a successful tool in design and marketing as well as address cases where nostalgia has been misused, contributing to the negative stigma it holds amongst some designers. I have been collecting points and ideas and working to use them to rework my concept map from part 1 of the research project. Hopefully as I rework it more will come to me to guide my search for sources.

Leave a Reply

